Product Review: Thirsties Cloth Diapers & Inserts

thirsties-cover-ocean-doublersDiaper Covers V2.0
Retail Price: $11.50 USD

Fab Doublers 3-pack
Retail Price: $6.00 USD

When a friend asked for cloth diapers for a shower gift, I thought she was crazy.  I had never heard of such a thing in this day and age.  But then as I slipped into more of an eco-conscious mothering role, I started to meet a lot of parents and babies utilizing cloth diapering, and it stopped seeming like such a far-out thing to do.  I couldn’t help but notice that cloth diapered baby bums are just simply adorable, and of course there’s the whole good-for-the-planet aspect.  Buying disposables wasn’t putting too big of a dent in our budget, but I figured saving money there couldn’t hurt.

So, like a Thinking Woman, I started doing my research, and tried to figure out where to get started with this cloth craziness.  It all seemed so complicated to me.  What do I need?  How many do I need?  Boy, this seems really expensive to get started!  What if I hate it?!  I posted a frustrated blog entry asking for someone to please send me a single button that said “here-is-everything-you-need-to-get-started-with-cloth-diapering.”  Of course, that was sarcasm, and I had no idea such a button actually existed – until I found Mom’s Milk Boutique and their full line of cloth diapering packages.  Now all we had to do was pick the brand we wanted to try.

The husband and I read every review we could find, took advice from some friends, and ultimately decided to buy the Prefolds Starter Pack, which comes with 2 Thirsties V2.0 Covers, 12 Chinese Pre-folds, and one Snappi.  Seven months later I’m thrilled to say that we love our diaper system, and we only wish we had started sooner.  We have never once had a leak with these diapers – not even overnight!  They are made with a special double leg gusset that keeps messes contained.

I loved the diapers so much that I went back to Mom’s Milk Boutique and bought more Thirsties covers, a couple of Thirsties All-In-Ones, and a few packs of the Thirsties Fab Doublers.  I originally bought the Doublers for overnight, but soon I started using them in every diaper because (I feel that) it makes cleanup a little easier, and it helps prevent diaper rash by wicking wetness away from baby’s skin.  I like the All-In-Ones for trips out of the house when I need an especially high-speed diaper change, but when we’re at home I’m perfectly happy with the Prefold system.

I use the covers on both of my sons, who, despite being 1 year old and 3 yrs old, both wear the same size clothing.  They have completely opposite body types; the younger one is built like a short, stocky football player, and the older one built like a tall, lanky basketball player.  But, despite their differences, the same Thirsties cover works perfectly on both of them.  I thank the velcro for this, because it makes the diaper fully adjustable, and has the added benefit of being quicker on and off than snaps would be. 

I went from thinking “Cloth diapering is cuckoo” to thinking “Wow! Cloth diapering is fun!/economical!/easy!”  It helps that the system we chose worked so well for us.  If I had leaks or the diapers were difficult to put on, I may not have stuck with it.  But our Thirsties did the trick.

If you’re thinking of trying out cloth diapering for yourself but have no idea what brand might work for you, I would recommend the MMB “Trial Program.”  With this program, for less than the cost of a pack of disposable diapers, you can test drive a huge selection of cloth diapers.  At the end of the 30 days, you can either keep what you like and purchase them, or send them back, and either way a Free wetbag is yours to keep!  Mom’s Milk Boutique offers free shipping on every item too!  Once you decide what you like, visit Diaper Package deals, or choose your diapers and accessories ala carte.  They have a huge selection of baby and mama items, plus most of the products have consumer reviews (which is what helps me make my decision about almost everything I buy.)  To me, the starter packs and trial programs that Mom’s Milk Boutique offers are like “Cloth Diapering for Dummies” – which is exactly what I needed to get started.

In fact, I actually have Mom’s Milk Boutique booked-marked and titled “THE Place for Cloth Diapers.”  When I need a few more Thirsties covers or other cloth items, I head straight there!

~TFS

______________________________

Wanna try Thirsties for yourself?  You’re in luck!  One lucky TFS reader will win an all new Thirsties DUO Wrap, along with a Thirsties Fab Doubler courtesy of Mom’s Milk Boutique! There are three ways to enter:

  1. Leave a comment below.
  2. Post a link to this review on your blog – then leave a comment with a link to your post.
  3. Tweet a link to this review with the hashtag #tfstcdreview

You can enter once per method (so that’s three entries total.)  Contest ends on Sunday, June 28th at Midnight CST and the winner will be notified shortly thereafter.  Contest open to all so my international readers are welcome to enter!  Void where prohibited, and all that jazz.  One winner will be drawn at random from all the entries.  Good luck!

WINNER! Congrats to Jen H. from Indiana for winning this contest!  Keep reading The Feminist Shopper for more chances to win great prizes.

84 Responses to “Product Review: Thirsties Cloth Diapers & Inserts”

  1. Amber Says:

    I love how colourful the Thirsties are. Sign me up, please! 🙂

  2. ANne Says:

    I really want to give these diapers a try.

  3. Lynda Says:

    I love Thirsties and amso excited to tryout their new covers!

  4. Jeannette Says:

    I am so excited to order some DUO wraps by thirsties. My hubby and I have bought different brands of diapers trying to see what we may like. He has definately decided that THirsties is the brand for him. So thirsties it will be

    I posted this in the wrong place originally

  5. Jennifer Hamitlon Says:

    I would LOVE to try one of these!!!

  6. Jennifer Hamitlon Says:

    I tweeted!

    Thanks!!

  7. Kayleen Says:

    I want to try this Thirsties Duo cover!

  8. coconutsx21 Says:

    I really need to try prefolds and this cover sounds like the perfect cover for us!

  9. coconutsx21 Says:

    Tweet

  10. April Says:

    I am so excited about the new cover!!!

  11. Jen Says:

    I use flats on my lo and can’t wait to try one of these!!

  12. Megan Says:

    It is time to size up from s to m and I am loving this new option! And the meadow green……..LOVE IT!

  13. Jane of Seagull Fountain Says:

    Pick Me!

  14. Jane of Seagull Fountain Says:

    I twittered: http://twitter.com/SeagullFountain/status/2317263888

  15. Beth Says:

    I just found out I’m expecting my third – unexpectedly. I would love to go cloth for this last time around!

  16. Jessica Says:

    I can’t wait to try the new DUO! I’m due in Oct. and it would be great to have some adjustable covers that work as well as Thirsties. Newborns grow so quickly!

  17. Kyamo Says:

    I’m planning on using these when my baby is born, even better if there are only two sizes to buy now.

  18. Regina Johnson Says:

    I’m really excited about the new thirsties duo cover! I hope it will fit my nb well.

  19. Julie Says:

    I would love to try the Duo. I am currently using nothing but Thirsties brand on my little one. She is in AIOs and Fab Fitteds.

  20. Heather Says:

    I would love to win this, please sign me up! 🙂

  21. Meredith Says:

    The Thirsties are so cute – this new duo looks awesome! Oh, and I heart Mom’s Milk Boutique too!!

  22. Brittney Says:

    I would love to try one of these! They look awesome!

  23. Crystal Says:

    I stumbled into Cloth Diapering after reading through a pamphlet at my Midwife’s office while pregnant, and I have always cloth-diapered from the get-go and it’s SO SIMPLE and works perfect for us! I would love to try this here Thirsties cover, and so I hope to win the sweepstakes!

  24. Rebecca Says:

    I’m getting ready to order 2 of these new Thirsties! I love their other covers so I’m excited to try these for baby boy due in Sept!

  25. Sunshine Says:

    Please sign me up!!!

  26. Mandy Says:

    I loved Thirsties covers back when we were first cloth diapering. I haven’t tried these new ones!

  27. Erinn Says:

    I’d love to try one of these covers!!

  28. Erika Says:

    I love my Thirsties covers! Can’t wait to try the new duo!

  29. Reiza Says:

    That trial package is awesome.

    I love the colors of the Thirsties. I’ve been cloth diapering on and off for 7 years, but I can never get enough of them. CD’s are so freaking cute!

  30. Reiza Says:

    tweet: http://twitter.com/ReizaM/status/2338069927

  31. Kristin Says:

    I’ve never used Thirsties but have heard great things… i’d love to try them!

  32. kristen ~Pajama Mama Says:

    I’m starting the go cloth…and am a bit overwhelmed but excited at the same time! What a great giveaway for someone just starting out!

  33. kristen ~Pajama Mama Says:

    just tweeted the giveaway & review:
    twitter.com/KristenPajama

  34. Chris Says:

    I would love to try out the new Duo Cover! Thanks for running the giveaway!

  35. Bethany Says:

    I have 2 that need dipes, 1 is in them and I do NOT like the covers I have. The other still needs to be in them, but we don’t have the upfront money right now. I would LOVE to try these. I have heard NOTHING but great review of Thirsties!!

  36. Amanda Mock Says:

    Those look awesome. Thx for the review

  37. charlotte Says:

    Hm. Interesting. I’ve been giving cloth diapering a lot of thought, but so far, haven’t dared to make the change. Maybe these diapers will convince me …

  38. Jokay Says:

    We love Thirsties products!

  39. outtajo Says:

    Your post couldn’t have come at a better time. My partner and I are in baby registry mode and cloth diapers are the last thing we have to tackle. It’s really overwhelming for a newbie, so I REALLY appreciate the links to Mom’s Milk Boutique – thanks!

    Also, I tweeted… twice 🙂

    http://www.twitter.com/waitingforpoppy (new baby blog)
    http://www.twitter.com/outtajo (personal blog)

    …and will be blogging about diapers tomorrow.

  40. Sarah Says:

    So excited to try these new covers!

  41. tsbasket Says:

    Waiting for new baby, would love to try the Thirsties Duo Wrap.

  42. Chrystal Says:

    These look so awesome! The best of both worlds in a cover *and* the Thirsties reliability and colors! LOVE these!

  43. Tania Says:

    I LOVE Mom’s Milk Boutique!!! They are the awesome!

  44. Katie Says:

    Let me just say Thirsties is my fave brand and Mom’s Milk Boutique is one of the only two websites I buy my products from. I LOVE THEM!! I use Thirsties covers, doublers, and LOVE their hemp inserts…

  45. Bree Says:

    I would LOVE to try the new Thirsties! Great giveaway!

  46. Kelly Says:

    Can’t wait to try these duos! I love mom’s milk boutique.

  47. Tara Says:

    I love the Thirsties covers! They work great and now that I’ve got two girls in cloth diapers I am excited that I can use the same covers for both of them and making sorting laundry a little easier.

  48. Elizabeth Says:

    Your experience with cloth diapering sounds so much like my own. Thirsties are what pulled me in. They work amazingly well! And I loooovvveee Moms Milk Boutique. I’m poking around in there all the time trying to see what else I can buy…

    I blogged about it: http://schweizerfam.blogspot.com/

  49. Kellie Says:

    I am coming late to the CD game. My son is 16 months old & we decided to switch to cloth to save money. Since we plan on having another baby what I buy now will come in handy. I am amazed at all the different dipes and types that there are. Thirsties covers come highly recommended by a bunch of my friends so I have to give them a try. The Duo sounds even better since I would need to buy less and only buy 2 sizes instead of 3. Can’t wait to try the new Duo.

  50. Elizabeth Says:

    I am having my baby in August and am working on building my cloth diaper stash. I would love to try one of these Thirsties covers! Thanks for the great post, and thanks to Mom’s Milk Boutique!

  51. Erica W Says:

    I have really been wanting to try a Thirsties wrap & these sounds AWESOME!!! I have a Thirsties Fab Fitted & I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!!!

  52. Meagan Says:

    I love Thirsties, it’s what we use! They’ve never let me down.

  53. Jessica Says:

    I LOVE MMB! That is where I do all my shopping too. I would also love to try one of these new wraps because of DS’s weird fitting in the rise from his current ones.

  54. Buildeth Her House Says:

    OHHH I’m in!!!

  55. Susanna T Says:

    I love Thirsties cover, they fit my little one perfectly, and let him move around easily. As for Mom’s Milk, I wish I had found her sooner. She is great to work with and if you have any questions you can always call her directly. It is the only place I order from now.

  56. Tamara Says:

    I would love to try a Thirsties, love the bright colors.

  57. Jen Says:

    I love Thirsties! Sign me up please! 🙂

  58. Cheryl Thiessen Says:

    I’m new to CD’ing, and my baby is due in 2 weeks. I would love to try a Thirsties cover. I have heard lots about them and they sound great! I’m using pockets on my 17 month old right now, but have a few fitteds to try on my baby when he/she comes. Would love to give this cover a try!

  59. Prefold Love Says:

    We love our prefolds and we love our thirsties covers. We have several different types of covers and the thirsties are much lighter but equally sheilding and the leg gussets save the day with blow outs. We are so excited about the 3size in one covers!

  60. kelli Says:

    I love cloth diapering and I’d love to try Thirsties. Please sign me up for the giveaway!!

  61. Cassie Says:

    Would love a chance at winning the new Thirsties wrap! Thanks so much!

  62. Allison Says:

    I can’t wait to try the new DUO!

  63. Holli Says:

    I love my Thirsties covers, Fab Fitteds, and AIOs! I can’t wait to try out the new DUO covers!!! This drawing is a great idea!

  64. Judith Says:

    love thirsties, and can’t wait to try the DUO

  65. Pamela Says:

    I just started using cloth diapers with my 4th. What took me so long!? Love Thirsties. Duo looks awesome.

  66. Rebecca Says:

    I love thirsties AND moms milk boutique!!

  67. Mandie Says:

    Wow. Sounds great!

  68. Cate Says:

    I always love trying new CDs. I haven’t gone for the Thirsties yet, so let me give ’em a whirl.

  69. Cate Says:

    I just retweeted your post, as you probably saw/will see momentarily.

  70. carla Says:

    We love Thirsties, and the new covers look great!

  71. Audrey Says:

    Unfortunately, these are not available in mnay places in Canada. Would love to try them. Cloth diapering is great!

  72. caseyandalicia Says:

    Love thirsties covers, anxious to try the OS!

  73. Andrea Says:

    I love Thirsties and MMB, too! I order from Bonnie and Abbie at least once a week anymore … would love to win one of the new wraps.

  74. Olivia Says:

    CD mama of twins! Would love to try the Thirsties! Thanks for the chance to win!

  75. Micah Toomey Says:

    We could definitely use one of these! I love the free shipping at MMB!

  76. Kim Hampton Says:

    I have preordered one already! Can’t wait to get it!

  77. Kelly Says:

    Would love to try this!

  78. Amberly Says:

    Wow! I love that I will just have to buy one size instead of two!

  79. Queen of the Click Says:

    We liked the old style and would love a chance to try the new Thirsties!

  80. Amy Says:

    We cloth diaper and I would love to try the DUO. Thanks for the chance to win!

  81. Angie Says:

    Been trying out the Thirsties and am intrigued about the Duo. Thanks for the giveaway. Mom’s Milk is the best!!

  82. allyall Says:

    Sign me up for an entry to this great contest! Woot for thirsties! Awesome!

  83. lyndal Says:

    YaY Thirsties!!!
    YAY Mom’s Milk Boutique!!!

  84. Corrie Says:

    These look awesome! I would love to sign up!

Comments are closed.


