Product Review: AM Nursing Tankini

swimsuit_fullview3Front Twist Tankini in Black
Retail Price: $63.00 USD

When it comes to nursing apparel, it seems that many makers haven’t gotten the message that mothers can be very sexy.  I rarely bother purchasing any nursing wear because a lot of times all items on the rack looked like something my grandmother would wear.  I may be a nursing mother, but that doesn’t mean I’ve lost my edge.  In fact, I’d argue that nursing is one of the most beautiful expressions of womanhood, and so it should be celebrated with both form and function.

Thankfully some designers and retailers, like Annee Matthew and A Mother’s Boutique, agree with me on that one.  Matthew has designed a gorgeous, luxurious nursing tankini (pictured here worn by yours truly) that is just as beautiful as it is functional.  You’d never guess by looking at it that this hot little number is really designed to make discreet nursing, even in a swimsuit, a snap.  The nylon/spandex blend feels like silk against your skin, and has just the right amount of give to both accentuate and also support all your womanly curves.

swimsuit_backviewThe part that I really loved about this suit was that the bottoms tied on both sides, which makes for a perfect fit.  You won’t find any “muffin-top” here.  Thanks to a couple of babies in a couple of years, I have some residual padding hanging around that does not play well with most swim suit bottoms, but with a suit like this that ties, you can easily adjust it so that it’s comfortable and flattering. I will warn you that the bottoms are a bit on the skimpy side, but my husband was quite excited about that feature.  If you’re looking for extra coverage, you may want to go a size up.

The tankini also helps accentuate your curves while covering whatever little tummy issues may be causing you to shy away from a two-piece suit.  A Mom’s Boutique carries this item in both black and teal, along with a full line of beautiful, flattering, and functional swimwear, and their Christmas in July sale is going on right now!

I’m headed to Mexico with the family in two weeks, and I think I may live in my Annee Matthew Nursing Tankini the whole time I’m there.  Viva la Mother’s Boutique!

~TFS

______________________________

Wanna win this nursing swimsuit for yourself?  You’re in luck!  One lucky TFS reader will win this Annee Matthew Front Twist Nursing Tankini courtesy of A Mother’s Boutique!  There are three ways to enter:

  1. Leave a comment below telling us why you’d like nursing swimwear.
  2. Post a link to this review on your blog – then leave a comment with a link to your post.
  3. Tweet a link to this review as follows: Nursing Tankini Review & Giveaway @feministshopper http://bit.ly/eExmu #tfsamtreview

You can enter once per method (so that’s three entries total.)  Contest ends on Wednesday, July 15th at Midnight CST and the winner will be notified shortly thereafter.  Contest open to U.S. and Canada residents only.  Void where prohibited, and all that jazz.  One winner will be drawn at random from all the entries.  Good luck!

13 Responses to “Product Review: AM Nursing Tankini”

  1. John Says:

    Hubba Hubba

  2. Erin Says:

    Oh, my goodness, I need this! I had a C-section in March (GRRRR, I SO wanted a natural birth, but that’s another story), and every suit that I’ve tried on either fits miserably or isn’t at all compatible with nursing. I retweeted (@mothergreenest), too. Thank you for the awesome giveaway!

  3. Deedee Hammons Says:

    I would love a nursing swimsuit! I am nursing my 5 month old daughter, and honestly, I’m tired of having to decide between ducking into the locker room every time she’s hungry, or exposing myself to whatever wandering eyes might be at hte pool 😦

  4. Reiza Says:

    Why would I like nursing swimwear? Um…I breastfeed and I swim. lol. I have one nursing suit that I got over 7 years ago, but it leaves much to be desired. I’d love to give this one a shot.

  5. Reiza Says:

    tweet: http://twitter.com/ReizaM/status/2594355452

  6. aimee Says:

    we have a public pool by our house, and i always feel kind of wierd nursing my 4 month old son with a regular bathing suit. i’d love to try out this nursing tankini (yeah for belly coverage)!

    princessvagnag at yahoo dot com

  7. aimee Says:

    Tweet: http://twitter.com/MemeFTW/status/2607305264

    princessvagnag at yahoo dot com

  8. Cate Says:

    I would love something to feel pretty in while swimming and bfing!

  9. Cate Says:

    I just tweeted it, but I @you, so you probably already know that.
    BTW: I’m slightly jealous of your post-baby body. Our boys are the same age and I’m not there yet!

  10. CaroLyn Says:

    Hey Gina – I’m with Cate, you’re looking great! Guess I’d like to win a nursing tankini for the inspiration of getting back on the beach next summer – I don’t know if I’ll make it this year or not…

    Btw for more inspiring and reality check photos, I love looking at the photos on http://theshapeofamother.com/

  11. slee Says:

    I want a nursing suit because its hard to plan a day at the beach or pool with Snapdragon because I don’t have a suit that I can easily nurse him in, and as an EBF 2month old, he’s much prefer to have the tatas readily available. That, and my regular swimsuit finally wore through.
    I love this one bevcause it still looks like a 100% woman wears it, not just the sexless matron that most suits make a girl out to be.

  12. Erin Says:

    Tweet!

    http://twitter.com/mothergreenest/status/2656011838

  13. Tankini Swimwear Says:

    This look cute and not expensive. I love it and might buy some of them on this summer.

Leave a Reply

